My Relationship With My Parents…

img1So this weeks challenge question is to describe the relationship that I have with my parents.  As I have told you before, I have 5 parents, not including my in-laws.  Pretty crazy right?  Well, I can now explain it to you in detail, as this weeks post is all about my parents!

BeFunky_39782_150960571585845_100000157085736_513435_5907480_n[1]This is my Mama.  This woman and I have had an interesting relationship while I’ve been growing up.  Now, we have a decent one.  She has her life, I have mine, and we support one another.  She’s amazing and I love her.  I don’t think there are many others out there who can say they know me like she does, not just the little things from when I was a kid, but as an adult too.  She knows almost exactly how I will react to any situation and how I am.  She understands my Gypsy Soul and my need for water and trees.  She really is one of my best friends and I am thankful to the Goddess that I have her.  Pirate calls her Mamacup, since he calls me Buttercup.  Although if I leave them alone together for too long, they start hatching schemes against me.  They’re pranksters and always gang up together to tease me, all in good fun mind you.  I love my Mama.

34442_1412040874533_4960081_nThis is my Daddy.  I’ve told you before how lucky I am to have many amazing parents, but my Daddy is awesome.  We don’t have a perfect relationship, but we get along just fine.  I know I can go to him for advice and he will not steer me wrong on purpose.  He loves and supports me and my decisions, even if he thinks they’re wrong, but he does it cause I’m his baby.  My dad not only had a hand in raising me, but helped raise my sisters as well, and loves my brother as much as he loves the rest of us, and none of them are his biological children.  That has never mattered as family is the ones whom you have to love, support, and so on and so forth.  Now, he may be a teddy bear with the grands, but Dad is hard on us sometimes. He tells it like it is, whether we wanna hear it or not, and he doesn’t sugar coat things.  That’s a blessing really, even though we don’t always see it that way.  I wouldn’t change my Daddy, and I’m so glad that he and my mom brought me into this world.  I know my Daddy reads this so, LOVE YOU DADDY! MUAH!

36880_1412038034462_7034303_n

Next up is my Step-Mom.  Now, that term in this family, Step- anything is just a clarifying terms.  All of my parents are Mom and Dad.  This woman has been there for me for a long time.  Again, no ones relationship with their parents is perfect, but even after her and my Dad got a divorce, I was still her daughter and she was still my Mom.  She tells me all the time, especially when someone is giving me crap about not being a part of the family, that she picked me.  She didn’t have to pick me as her daughter, but she did.  She was a counselor when I needed one, she taught me to cook, bake, make candy, she taught me a lot of things and one of those things was loving unconditionally, even if the person you’re loving isn’t your flesh and blood.  Love you Mama  Miss ya like crazy! xoxo

8527_1228790554156_1060849703_2355978_6989134_n[1]This is my step dad.  He came into my life when I was 8 months old.  He’s been around ever since.  I lived with him and my mom, and I cannot even begin to tell you the amount of things that this man taught me.  He’s fun and carefree sometimes, and others he’s stressed about this or that, but he always made time for my brother and I.  He taught me to ride a bike, swim, tie my shoes, drive, drive a boat, to start a fire, to rake leaves, to do the dishes, to make spaghetti, to always put the children first, to have a good time, to set up a tent, to be okay with who you are.  In many ways I am a lot like him, but then again, it’s been pointed out to me that I took the best things about each of my parents, and made them me.  I wouldn’t change what my childhood was like, the ups and downs, any of it, because it would change who I am today.  I can honestly say that this man, right here, had a lot to do with it.  So, if you’re reading this daddy, “That’s WHY!”

 My parents split when I was just a couple of months.  The jury is still out as to exactly what happened, I’ve heard the he-said/she-said and decided it doesn’t really matter.  My mom remarried when I was 4 and my dad remarried when I was 5.  My dad and my step-mom got a divorce when I was 19, just before I had Diva.  My mom and step-dad divorced when I was 25ish.  So, it’s been a long time that I’ve had these people in my life.  I still consider them all parents, and they all had a hand in raising me, as did many aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents, and so on.  So, I have shown you the four people who raised me, but there’s one more. 

200106_206359776056324_2694671_nThis is Poppa Duck.  Poppa Duck married my step-mom just after her divorce with my dad was final.  (lets get real, they held on for us girls to graduate).  So, I’ve known him all of Diva’s life.  He has gracefully accepted me as part of the family, just like he did my sisters.  And that’s what I love about him.  He’s a Vietnam Navy Vet, so we enjoy our Navy conversations quite a bit, and he’s great with advice.  He once told me that when I need advice on something, to ask someone 20 years my senior, cause odds are they’ve been there done that already.  He’s a great guy to have around and I’m glad that I know him now.  He may not have had a hand in raising me as I was grown when we met, but I love him dearly and am thankful for him.  He is always included in my prayers to the Goddess for peace and safety of my parents, and I rank him among them because even though the amount of time I’ve known him has been short, he has shown me an extreme capacity for love.  Let’s get real here, how many people are going to go, oh, that’s your ex-step-daughter but you still love her like your other biological daughters? Oh, just looks like a daughter to me.  And that’s exactly how he treats me.

Well, that’s it.  Those are my parents.  Our relationship hasn’t always been sunshine and rainbows, I was a teenager after all, but I’m sorting through it now that I’m an adult with kids of my own.  I love my parents and despite everything we may or may not have been through, they’re mine.  I pretend to share with my other siblings, but I don’t, not really.  Well, I’m off for now.  Enjoy your beautiful Tuesday.  :)

Buh Bye Butterfly! 

Leave a Reply

